About Us

The Referendum Commission is an independent body that explains the subject matter of referendum proposals, promotes public awareness of a referendum, and encourages the electorate to vote. It is open to the Minister for the Environment to appoint a Commission any time a referendum is to be held.

A Commission was appointed for the referendums on marriage and on the age of Presidential candidates (technically there are two Commissions, one for each referendum, but they act as one). It is chaired by the Hon Mr Justice Kevin Cross of the High Court. Its other members are the Ombudsman, Mr Peter Tyndall; the Comptroller and Auditor General, Mr Seamus McCarthy; the Clerk Assistant of the Dáil, Mr Peter Finnegan; and the Clerk of the Seanad, Ms Deirdre Lane.


View the legislation that relates to the Commission.

Previous Referendums

Read our previous reports on referendums

Website Policy Statements

View the policies adopted by the Referendum Commission in the maintenance of its website.

Freedom of Information Request

View the procedures for making an FOI request to the Referendum Commission